Civil service values

I’m typing this on a Sunday evening.

2 days ago I had an interesting exchange on Twitter.

It revolved around freedom of information (FoI) requests made to the Cabinet Office.

I don’t regret much in my life. But some of my tweets were a little close to the bone.

So I thought I’d review my understanding of the civil service values.

They require me to be:

  • honest
  • objective
  • impartial

and to do everything with integrity.

I am honest, maybe too much so sometimes. Often I say/type what I know to be true, before checking I should. This might be an unconscious attempt to gain favour.

I am mostly objective. I avoid subject statements. Where there is data to back me up, I use it.

Being impartial I find easy. I don’t discuss my political views in public. I avoid saying/typing things that might go against government policy.

Now. Integrity. Hmmmm. To me this means means being selfless. I put the interests of the public above my own.

Well, thats all I’ve got for now.

I’m off to read the civil service code and see if I’m right.

One thought on “Civil service values

Leave a Reply

